snowy mountain framed by evergreens
Glacier National Park
summer 2011

Jak Koke


My most recent novel is The Edge of Chaos, a Forgotten Realms fantasy. I’m also the author of the bestselling Shadowrun trilogy The Dragon Heart Saga — Stranger Souls, Clockwork Asylum, and Beyond the Pale — and several other fantasy and science fiction titles.

The Edge of Chaos

The Edge of Chaos by Jak KokeThe touch of the Spellplague lingers in the valleys of the Vilhon Wilds. Roiling with blue fire and strange aberrations, the Plaguewrought Land outside the city of Ormpetarr lures pilgrims hoping for a spellscar, and its attendant powers, to their deaths. But an elixir crafted by a clever alchemist might hold the secrets to surviving the trial — or if the Order of the Blue Fire has its way, may unleash the Spellplague once more.


Liferock by Jak KokeThe obsidimen of Tepuis Garen have a deep kinship with each other and the earth from whence they are born. The youngest of the Garen brotherhood, Pabl Evr, returns home to find his liferock attacked by miners and threatened by a perverse magical force.

The Dragon Heart Saga: a Shadowrun trilogy

Dunkelzahn the dragon’s election as President promised the dawn of a new era of peace. But the hopes of a nation disintegrate with the powerful explosion that assassinates him.

Book 1: Stranger Souls

Stranger Souls (Book 1 of the Dragon Heart Saga) by Jak KokeRyan Mercury, Dunkelzahn’s secret agent, is on a mission of great urgency involving dangerous magic. Behind enemy lines, Ryan must escape and recover the talisman known as the Dragon Heart before it falls into the wrong hands.

Book 2: Clockwork Asylum

Clockwork Asylum (Book 2 of the Dragon Heart Saga) by Jak KokeThe spirit Lethe teams up with Burnout, a cyberzombie with a vendetta against Ryan Mercury. Together they gather an impressive arsenal of allies and weaponry, using the Dragon Heart to lure Ryan into a deadly trap.

Book 3: Beyond the Pale

Beyond the Pale (Book 3 of the Dragon Heart Saga) by Jak KokeRyan must deliver the Dragon Heart to the Thayla before the Enemy finishes their bridge and lays waste to the world. If Thayla falls, can metahumanity be far behind?

Stand-alone Shadowrun novels

Dead Air

Dead Air - A Shadowrun Novel by Jak KokeWhen Jonathan Winger — leader of Los Angeles’s superstar Combat Biker team — sees his teammate die in a crash with an opposing player, he vows to seek revenge, only to become the next target in a deadly conspiracy.

The Terminus Experiment

The Terminus Experiment - A Shadowrun Novel by Jonathan E. Bond and Jak KokeWhen Rachel’s boyfriend is abducted, she hires shadowrunners to find him, only to learn he’s become a test subject for a special strain of the virus that causes vampirism. It’s up to Rachel and her vampire hunter friends to rescue him before he transforms. (with Jonathan E. Bond)

Short Fiction

I started my career writing mostly short stories, flash fiction, and novellas. Sometimes a short story can be more powerful than a novel.

  • “Lies for Dessert” — Aftershocks, 2000 (hardcover)Aftershocks: An Anthology of So-Cal Horror edited by Jeremy Lassen
  • “Cadillac Truth” (with Jonathan Bond) — Talebones, Fall 1997
  • “Coiled in Dark Amber” — Earthdawn: Talisman, October 1994Talisman - an Earthdawn anthology, edited by Sam Lewis
  • “Tunnel Rats” (with Jonathan Bond) — Rat Tales, 1994
  • “Pieces of Prison” (with Jonathan Bond) — Young Blood, March 1994
  • “Comes Pain” (with Jonathan Bond) — Aberations, 1993 (#13)
  • “Target Practice” (with Jonathan Bond) — After Hours, Winter 1993 (#17)
  • “Deadwise” (with Jonathan Bond) — Amazing Stories, August 1992